Horn o’Plenty

  This year, my family is having Delayed Thanksgiving.  Yep, that’s exactly what it sounds like.

Image  See, months ago, they booked an Eastern Caribbean cruise through my aunt who works at Carnival, and at the time, I had other ideas for what I thought I’d be doing around this time, so I declined to go.  Actually, I think the reason I gave at the time for not going had more to do with the conflict between the accommodation plan (“You’ll share a two bed cabin with your father”) and part of the sales pitch (“You’ll get the chance to meet a lot of single girls looking for fun on vacation!”).  I may pick at scabs at occasion, but I’m not a masochist, so I declined.

My sisters didn’t mind: after all, someone had to look after the cats.

Anyway, the family all came back on Monday night, which basically meant that I didn’t get any turkey dinner at the same time that everyone else was getting turkey dinner.  Hence, the Delayed Thanksgiving that we’re going to have this weekend.

A lot of really good things seem to happen to me when the family is gone.  The last time they decided to take a road trip to the Carolinas in July, I booked my Era Detergent commercial and ended up joining ACTRA, one of the best things that’s happened to me in really the last decade, if not further back.  This time, it was starting work with a new mentor, performance coach Dan LeFave, through the same chain of serendipitous events that leads to every new stage I’ve had.

I won’t go into too many details, as it’s still very early in my work, but I want to say that mindset counts more for creative people than what even creative people want to admit.  This is critical, because creative people have vivid imaginations, and within the working framework of the Law of Attraction, this makes us particularly powerful sons of bitches.  There’s absolutely no reason why we can’t achieve financial success doing what we love.

Half the time, when you do the mental work on paper to trace back where we decided that actors should be underpaid, that authors should be struggling, depressed alcoholics, that painters and dancers can only go as high as the mail room or the reception desk, you find yourself looking at nothing.  These nothing beliefs keep us from full expression.  That in itself should scare the crap out of any artist.

We equate large financial windfalls with “selling out”, almost on instinct, as if we had to add worries on “compromising our art” on top of the whole juggling act between inspiration, productivity, and defending your life passion against your unsupportive spouse or disapproving family

Too many artists assume that unhappiness, suffering, and struggle are built into the experience of being an artist.  And as creative beings with immense imaginations, we add a crap-ton of power to creating that experience for ourselves.

We don’t have to.

This isn’t a rallying cry for producing only positive content, because catharsis is part of why we do what we do.  It’s how many artists process bad things out of our systems.  But after we’ve purged the excrement, why re-ingest it by thinking that we’re just made to suffer for our “craft”?  That’s total bullshit in more ways than one.

One thing I’ve learned in my new work, and experienced in my life surprisingly fast since I started, is that the Law of Attraction works independently of whether you believe it’s real or if you think it’s a ton of crap.  If you do become a believer, you’ll notice the difference, and when you do, you’ll see just how much great potential artists have to use their imaginations to create a fantastic life.

Like I said before, work out on paper all the beliefs you have that say why you can’t do a thing, and you’ll trace it back either to a disapproving outside influence or not be able to find the source at all.  And it’s moot in any case, because regardless of where it first came from, you’re aware of it in your head right now.

And you can change your mind about it.  Like, anytime.

It will take some drilling the new ideas into your head and consistent practice, but you’ll get to the point where you find yourself energized and excited about what it is that you’re passionate about in a way you probably haven’t felt in a while.  Then, if you really give yourself to that good feeling, you’ll start seeing the prosperity appear in your life, just by doing what you would have been doing anyway.

The actions count, of course, but the difference between “action” and “inspired action” is the difference between a fly using 200% effort to bang against the same spot on a mesh screen in vain and using 50% effort to simply move three inches to the left to find the open window.

Image Part of American Thanksgiving traditions is the ancient cornucopia, or the horn of plenty.  Imagine having something like that at your table, limitless, unending sustenance.  Without knowing it, I think the ancients created the cornucopia as a means to generate that prosperous feeling in the human mind, because that’s precisely what it feels like when you re-define your art as a source of infinite wealth, potential, human meaning, and influence.

   Lately, I’ve been working with an affirmation, based on the teachings of my favourite guru, Bob Proctor:

  I am so happy and grateful now that money continues to flow into my life in ever-increasing quantities from doing what I love and loving what I do. 

  This is the longer, more precise version of the mantra some of you may remember I was all about during the summer.

  “SHOW ME THE MONAAAAAAAY!”

  Because as an artist, I’m doing my authentic work, and I deserve to get paid for it.  That doesn’t make me a sellout: selling out is when I’m not being authentic to what I want to say, and that’s something I can do while completely broke!  I don’t have to actually suffer for my art, because not everything has to be Method.  I can write about angry, depressing, or fearful situations and not lose myself in them when I’ve stopped writing.

And I don’t have to subscribe to the financial quote-unquote “realities” about being an artist that society says.  Society already tells me I’d be better off as a doctor or a businessman. I already defied society once by choosing to be a professional writer and actor; why the hell wouldn’t I take the extra step of also defying society’s stereotype of the “starving artist”?

Image  We do this to ourselves, guys and gals, and that’s why it really hurts.  We cheat ourselves by embracing mental limitations that have no foundation in anything.  Other people’s failures do not have to be our own.

  We’ve got a cornucopia waiting for us, if we choose to see it, to build enthusiasm for it, to allow ourselves to enjoy the idea of it, knowing that these emotions and new thoughts, combined with our powerful imaginations, give us a greater ability to make those lofty ambitions a reality than half the gorram CEOs on Wall Street.

   My new coaching is 100% focused on prosperity and financial wealth, and is 100% centered around re-training my mind to think in a more generative way about money, which leads me to take inspired actions.  That’s why I have the affirmation.  Here it is again:

   I am so happy and grateful now that money continues to flow into my life in ever-increasing quantities from doing what I love and loving what I do.  

  And it’s definitely not selfish to think about making ourselves wealthy, because we can choose to spread it around to others.

Today, I got residual cheques in the mail, and I bought the family turkey.  I expressed gratitude out into the world as I stood in the checkout aisle, grinning from ear to ear.  This is the first time I’ve been able to provide the main course to my family.  I felt like a motherfucking hunter who just bagged a moose, taking the meat back to the waiting village for the feast.

My long-standing goal has been to make a decent living doing what I love, and I’m doing it, I’m really doing it!

   I am so happy and grateful now that money continues to flow into my life in ever-increasing quantities from doing what I love and loving what I do. 

   Artist or not, but especially if you are, try it on, see if it fits.  Better yet, write your own affirmation, and write it out over and over again for a few days, say it out loud.  For now, forget worrying about whether or not it will bring you more money – because it will – but just say it to enjoy the feeling saying it generates, that your craft matters, and deserves rewards from the world.

There’s a cornucopia waiting for you in exchange for doing what you love.  All you have to do is stop blinding yourself to it.

I’ll update with pictures from Delayed Thanksgiving when it happens.

Leave a Reply

