What We Need The Most, And Why

This happened only minutes ago as I begin this entry, and I want to record this for some future time when I’m in doubt about how things really work in the world.

I drove my friend Christine to work. During the drive, we talked about the nature of life, that it can’t simply be a series of failures and disappointments, that we have learned from experiences and that whatever shit we’re going through now has to lead to somewhere good. When we arrived at Starbucks, I decided to stick around to do some work.

Looking for a desk, I initially picked a spot on the long table, but my gaze was drawn to a white table in the corner where a man with a Jays cap, a woman in a blue blouse, and a younger guy with tattoos on his arms and face sat engrossed in some conversation.

Normally, I avoid seating myself in the middle of such conversations, but I just went with it.

The man in the Jays cap, Jeff, was talking about Eckhart Tolle when I sat down, and the idea of oneness, the interconnectedness of all things in the Universe, the intersections of science and physics and spirituality and abundance and all of the topics I’ve long explored in my own inquiry. Christine joined us, having arrived a half hour early for her shift, as it turned out, and we listened as we talked about work, the power of our words on reality, the catching up of science to ancient principles, of surrendering to the Universe and accepting what is and getting straight up about what we want versus what we think we should want in life.

The woman in blue, Georgina – who had only met Jeff an hour prior in response to a Craigslist ad looking for other spiritual people to speak with in the Mississauga area – added some elements of quantum physics to the mix. Adrian, the tattooed Satanist who just happened to have been sitting there when Jeff and Georgina sat down, brought up earth-bound topics of success and greatness and manifestation. Christine and I listened, for the most part, adding in a few insights here and there, but taking in what we had been drawn to hear.

Then, all at the same time, the conversation broke up. Jeff had to go home to watch the Jays game, Georgina had another errand to run, and Christine had to start her shift. Only Adrian and I remained, but we both had work to do. We all shook hands, wished each other well, and went our ways. No business cards exchanged, no follow up meetings arranged. The conversation had run its course.

To some extent, we all needed this for different reasons. For me, it was a verification of my assertion that “spiritual” people don’t all have to look the same way: we’re not all hemp-wearing, follow-your-bliss, self-employed vegans hanging out at drum circles and seminars (though if that’s your jam, more power to you!). You can be an ordinary meat-and-potatoes, 9 to 5, analytical worker ant if that’s who you are….and still meditate, still journal, still find your connection to the Divine.

And more to the point of that conversation in the car, after a few difficult weeks for yours truly, it was the latest in a few such meetings that have happened in my life when I needed them the most. Appropriate, given the meditation I’ve been doing every morning for the past month or so, directed to courtesy of Whitley and Anne Strieber: “give me what I need the most, and the wisdom to understand it”.

Says Whitley of this effective meditation: “All you need to do is go into the meditative state that I have described in so many places on this website, placing your attention on physical sensation and taking it out of thought, then ask her to give you what you need the most and the wisdom to understand it. Simply say, “give me what I need the most and the wisdom to understand it.” Place no conditions on it. Don’t be specific. The dead can see us much better than we can see ourselves.”

This was what I needed the most: the reminder that everything is connected, and the experience, as opposed to the comforting words, that I am exactly where and when I need to be, the right man, in the right place, at the right time. My current circumstances are what I am here to experience.

Leave a Reply

